top of page

Rio Olympics bound athletes for Aliann Pompey Invitational

Image courtesy of Stabroek News

Olympic Games bound athletes, Winston George, Brenessa Thompson and Aliya Abrams are among a number of international Track and Field stars who will compete in the inaugural Aliann Pompey Invitational.

The historical meet which will give local and international athletes a chance to qualify for the prestigious Olympic Games in August, is scheduled to take place this Saturday at the National Track and Field Centre in Leonora.

It comprises 13 track and two field events: Men’s 100m, Women’s 100m, Men’s 200m, Women’s 200m, Men’s 400m, Women’s 400m, Men’s 800m, Women’s 800m, Women’s 1500m, Men’s 5000m, Men’s 110 Hurdles, Men’s 400 Hurdles, Women’s 400 Hurdles, Men’s Triple Jump and Women’s Triple Jump.

George who will be competing in the men’s 200m and 400m is joined by sprinters Thompson (100m and 200m) and Abrams who will take part in the women’s 400m event.

According to the start list, in the 200m, George will face opposition from Jamal Roberts (USA), USA based Adam Harris, Trinidad’s Kyle Geraux and standout locals, Rupert Perry and Davin Fraser among others.

The national 400m record holder who qualified for the Olympics in Brazil, is scheduled to match spikes in the quarter mile event with USA based athletes, Stephan James and Jason Yaw, Brycen Spratlin (USA), Chris Geisting (USA) and Tabarie Henry (USVI) among others like locals Arinze Chance and Patrick King.

Thompson who broke the national 200m record on two occasions last month, will come up against Kadecia Baird (silver medalist at World Juniors, CARIFTA Games gold medalist), Paris Garcia (Puerto Rico), Tahisha Harrigan (BVI), Laverne Jones-Ferrette (USVI), Natrena Hooper (GUY), Tirana Mitchell (GUY) and Ebony Nelson (GUY). Abrams will face Baird along Tawanna Meadows (USA), Garcia, Ashley Kelly (BVI), Claire Mooney (Ireland), Samantha Edwards (Antigua) and USA based Guyanese, Alita and Chante’ Moore in the 400m.

Other top names for the meet which is being contested by more than 130 athletes from 12 territories include Chavez Ageday, Cleveland Thomas, Cleveland Forde and Winston Missigher. Athletes are scheduled to get in the blocks at 15:30hrs. See you there.

bottom of page